Two Simple Things Your Relationships Need For Survival

Gary Chapman is well known as “The Love Language Man.” His New York Times book, The Five Love Languages, selling over 9 million copies, has become a classic. To have blissful relationships, showing love is a must.  To have happy friends and co-workers, showing appreciation is essential. Recently, Dr. Chapman has embraced a second necessary ingredient for healthy relationships: dealing with offenses through apologies and forgiveness.  In May, Gary Chapman and I released When Sorry Isn’t Enough, which tells readers how to make things right with anyone. We believe that these two books fit together like a hand in a glove. Both sets of tools are needed to make relationships work.  Read More »

Learning Styles and Love?

Here is a one-sentence history of learning styles: Neil Fleming of New Zealand developed theVARK system of learning styles, which was based upon Bandler and Grinder’s VAK system and Neuro-Linguistic Programming. V,A, and K stand for these learning styles: Visual Auditory Kinesthetic I’ve heard it said that a person’s learning style may be revealed by their […]

The Five Love Languages 6th in a list of 12 eco-friendly Valentine’s Day tips

I was pleased to see that my co-author, Gary Chapman, earned this spot in a creative new article by the Canadian News Service: A dozen eco-friendly ways to express your affection By Denise Ryan, Times Colonist #6  Time and talent: Affirm your commitment by spending a weekend giving service (yes, that’s one of the five […]

Ted Haggard’s Apology on Oprah: 1.5 (out of 5) stars. Haggard’s Written Apology: 4 (out of 5) Stars.

The following letters from Ted Haggard, former senior pastor of New Life Church in Colorado, and his wife, Gayle, were read to his congregation on Sunday, Nov. 5.   I gave Haggard’s written apology 4 stars because he covered every language of apology except making restitution to the church.  He didn’t lose any points by making excuses […]

Our Five Languages of Apology- For Employees Too!

After three years of surveys, we have concluded that there are five basic elements to an apology. We have titled them the five languages of apology. Each person has a primary apology language, and one of the five speaks more deeply to them emotionally than the other four. The danger is that if you don’t speak their language, they may consider your apology to be insincere.

Read More »

Chapman’s Five Love Languages- For Employees Too!

What is your love language? We all have a language of love and getting it right may determine the success of your relationship. Gary Chapman, best-selling author of greater than two dozen books, indicates that at the heart of all relationships and marriages is the same core need – all people want to feel loved. Providing love in a way our partner can receive it is one key to a happy marriage.   Outside of love relationships, providing appreciation in a way employees can receive it is essential for keeping them on board.   Read More »